Common Questions Series, Educational Resources

What is gelatin?

What is gelatin?

What is Gelatin? 

What is Gelatin?

For most people, it’s something you have probably never heard of yet something you have consumed often.

According to PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals), Gelatin is:

A protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs. … However, there is a product called “agar agar” that is sometimes marketed as “gelatin,” but it is vegan. It is derived from a type of seaweed.
– Apr 6, 2020

Most people are unaware of what gelatin is and just how prevalent gelatin is in everyday items. Here in Australia, it can be found in most confectionary lolly varieties as well as in medicines and some additional food groups.

Whilst it is present in many confectionary lines, there are still however a number of everyday lolly varieties found at Woolworths & Coles that don’t (on the last check) contain gelatin. Some of these brands and varieties are:

– Hubba Bubba bubblegum
– Sour Patch Kids
– Skittles
– X-Treme Sour Straps
– Zappo Sour Straws
– Chupa Chups: Cola, Orange

As mentioned above by PETA, you can also look for alternatives that contain Agar Agar an alternative used to replicate gelatin:

There are also a whole host of 100% lolly brands and companies that produce vegan sweets. These can be a little harder to find, as they usually aren’t stocked in your larger grocery stores, but a quick search online will help you find them. Some brands that our community love are:

Eco-Vital – Fruit Gummy Bears

Free From Fellows – Gummy Bear, Cola Bottles, Lolly Pops & Gems

J LUEHDERS SOFT CANDY – Red Berries, Fruity Flowers & Exotic varieties

Candy Lush – Bears & Bottle varieties

So next time you are looking for a sweet treat without the ligaments & bones, why not lookout for some of these vegan or accidentally vegan varieties at your local store or online!

Did we miss a variety that you think should have been included in our What is Gelatin? piece? If so let us know at and we will happily update the post.


Free Beginners Guide to Going Vegan!

Download now

Leave your Comments

Your email address will not be published.

Comments (2)

  1. […] most traditional ranges or lollies contain gelatin and therefore are not suitable to vegetarians or […]

  2. […] sweets without you even realising it! Many traditional sweet manufacturers use what’s called GELATIN within their products, which is made from animal bones and ligaments (insert huge thumbs […]